I Have Heard a Lot About Pickles?


Dog Dirt has a quick chat as they prepare for their Not Fest debut and maybe some pickles?

For anyone who is not familiar with Dog Dirt, what do you do, and what can we expect from your live show?

Dog Dirt is just my solo punky folky project. For now the live set is just me and my guitar, you can expect me to struggle to have good banter and a bunch of sad songs that I wrote! Unfortunately, I’m yet to work in a light show or choreography but maybe one day.

Earlier this year you released a demo recording Slow Growth. It has four songs and is described as being about trying to be a better person. How have you found the response to it, and what’s your favourite track?

The response has been so so nice! Everyone has been really kind about it and it got a bigger reach than I expected, thanks to Sad Grrrls Club who put it out. I think my favourite song on it is For Me and For You, I think it incorporates a lot of what I try to do and what the project is about.

This is your first Not Fest, what are you expecting?

Yes! My first Not Fest and my first interstate show! I have heard a lot about pickles? And that it seems to be a really fun and posi time for all involved. I’m expecting to see a lot of great bands and make some new friends. I’m really looking forward to seeing heaps of people, like Max Quinn, Quinton Trembath, Jo Neugebauer, Paper Thin, Self Talk and so so many more.

Can you recommend to me a song about a place?

Oooh, one I really like is Newcastle by Linclon Le Fevre, it’s so emotional and just kicks me in the guts every time I listen to it. Maybe also Love Shack if that’s a real place.

You also play in Sports Bra, what’s happening there?

Yeah! Sports Bra is me, Allie, Naif and Kate (ex/current members of bands like: Hannahband, Mortgage, Pinkbatts) and we just put an album out. It’s a jangly, emo, queer pop band and I love being in it so much. Kate has to go pick fruit in Tasmania for 3 months because backpacker visas are super weird, but we have a replacement drummer and have a bunch of shows coming up in Sydney and hopefully elsewhere as soon as possible! I’m so stoked with the response to the album and everything so far and really excited to play more shows and write more songs.

What’s coming up for you?

Apart from Not Fest I’m playing Sad Grrrls Fest in Sydney on November 18th and then things are gonna be pretty quiet for the rest of the year while I take a little break to hopefully record a new EP over the summer.

Check out Dog Dirt at this year’s Not Fest. A limited number of discounted weekend passes available at http://bit.ly/2yLpE1d. Their work is available at sadgrrrlsclub.bandcamp.com

not fest 5

Title photo by Dust on the Shelf

 

Leave a comment